Midwife ❤️ 9 weeks 1 day 

So today we went to meet our midwife, and I know her from uni! Haven’t seen her in a few years, but so lovely to have someone I know. She will be our midwife at least throughout the pregnancy. Woo! 

What especially impressed me was when she asked my wife for her details as next of kin, i.e name and number, she without asking or hesitating wrote ‘wife’ in the space marked ‘relationship’. I mean this is how it’s meant to be, but unfortunately it often isn’t, and small triumphs of equality like this just leave me feeling so warm and happy ❤️

Confusingly the appointment wasn’t for the whole booking, which is what I had thought, but it turns out they do things slightly different round here and it was instead to get the ‘important’ tests out of the way and to request the dating scan,  with the actual booking appointment getting done at a home visit when convenient. I say ‘important’ cuz I know that these are things hospitals get tested on, key performace indicators, so it makes sense to get these out the way asap and for the longer but less ‘important’ information to be gathered at a later date. Obviously each aspect is equally important to providing good and appropriate care, but like most things in life now, measured outcomes are prioritised. It makes sense but I was hoping it would all be done today haha, and that other than the scan we wouldn’t need to make time for another appointment until 16 weeks.

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

We had the day off together today which was just lovely, and so went on a little adventure with the dogs and found some amazing walks within an hour of where we live. The scenery was just breathtaking and we had a beautiful day. On our way home we just went to a little town nearby to just explore and picked up this little cutie for our little cutie to be! 

Maybe a little silly but I’m trying hard not to shop for the baby yet and I just wanted to get something special that was just for the baby. Is so small that it barely counts right! 

Other than that, the only other thing I’ve bought for the baby is this wonderful book. 

I saw it reviewed on a same sex parenting blog I follow, and they raved about it as it’s suitable for any family, and it really is! Plus it’s so beautifully thought through and illustrated but still somehow understated. I’m just in love with it and can’t wait to start filling it out! 

I’m also planning on buying a special box for all babies things, such as pregnancy tests, scan photos, the book and the letter from the sperm donor, as well as anything else we collect as the pregnancy goes on and (pleasepleaseplease) as baby grows. This is partially for us, but primarily for baby. I want him/her to know they were loved and planned for and that they may be part of an unconventional family, but that families are made of love, and not blood. 

I am feeling so so thankful and so bloody happy.  This feels so surreal, but also there is still very much an underlying worry that something could go wrong. I cannot wait till that 12 week scan so we can see our little darling (pleasepleaseplease) looking big and healthy and happy. 

5 thoughts on “Midwife ❤️ 9 weeks 1 day 

  1. I’m grand thanks. We had our 10 week scan yesterday, all going well both babies measuring a bit ahead at 10+4. My morning sickness has started to ease thank god as I really wasn’t coping with it at all. Just the tiredness now to contend with! When is your next appointment? We are back in in 2 weeks for 12 week scan x

    Like

    1. That’s all fab news! Can’t imagine two babies you’re so lucky!!! I’ve been super lucky with no real sickness just nausea and tiredness mainly evenings but both easing now! Scan on 18th then 16 week midwife appointment. Should have a consultant appointment coming up cuz of ivf and I’m going to request an aspirin prescription (I’ve already brought some to start at 12 weeks) as I’m paranoid about preeclampsia cuz of ivf/donor sperm! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

