A little love letter 

31/5/17My baby,

You are a 19 weeks old foetus tomorrow, which means it is 17 weeks since the egg that made up half of you met the sperm that made up the other half and you started to become you. I guess the egg had been maturing for a couple of weeks prior to meeting its other half hence the 19 weeks, but who knows, maybe it’s just to make us pregnant people feel better about being so knackered because hey, look how pregnant we are! 
Being pregnant with you is my dream come true. You’re making me a mother, something I’ve dreamed of for years and something that feels like it’s still a dream to be honest, I can’t really believe that you’ll be coming to meet us soon, earth side. I’ve felt you move this last couple of weeks, but today I felt your squirms and worms so strongly, I like to think they were proper kicks. It felt like strong twitches or being flicked if you’re interested! It was so magical, such a beautiful feeling. Oh I don’t know what the point of this is except to say you are so wanted, you are so loved by me and your mummy and we can’t wait to meet you. 
We are busy preparing for that day. We are so excited, as are all of your family! So far we have planned your nursery and mummy is in the process of washing the walls ready for painting them. Your cot arrived yesterday and your Moses basket is on the way. We’ve bought some clothes, and a sling to love you in. We are trying to think of your name, are you Lucca or Rupert? Or Dahlia or Matilda?  
I can’t wait to meet you, to know you, to love you 💛

Leave a Reply

